Reggie Wayne, Torry Holt and DeMarcus Ware among the finalists in the 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2022


The Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday revealed its Modern Era finalists for the 2022 class. Among the list of 15 NFL legends considered for consecration in Canton, Ohio are three players who made the roster during the course. of their first year of eligibility, two previously eligible players but first-time finalists, then 10 players who have at least one other time have reached this point in the selection process.

Modern-era player finalists are determined by a vote of the Hall’s selection committee, according to, a process that began with 122 nominees. That group was reduced in November to 26. Those 15 finalists have one more turn to go, as the selection committee votes on next year’s induction class during Super Bowl LVI week.

Raiders wide receiver Cliff Branch has already been selected as a senior finalist while Dick Vermeil has been selected as the coach’s finalist and former referee Art McNally is the contributors finalist.

Here are the 15 players who were selected as Hall of Fame finalists:

WR Andre Johnson (Texans, Colts, Titans) 2003-16: The former Texans star is first eligible in 2022. Seven times Pro Bowler and twice All-Pro, Johnson led the NFL in receiving in 2008 and 2009. One of the most physically dominant receivers of them all the times, Johnson retired. with 1,062 catches with 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns.

OLB DeMarcus Ware (Cowboys, Broncos) 2005-16: A menacing pass, Ware has twice led the NFL in the sacks in his nine seasons with the Cowboys. After 117 sacks in Dallas, Ware took his talents to Denver, where he and Von Miller were the NFL’s most formidable rushing duo. The duo helped the Broncos clinch a victory over the Panthers in Super Bowl 50. Ware retired with 138.5 sacks and eight double-digit sack seasons. He will be eligible for the Hall of Fame for the first time in 2022.

WR Reggie Wayne (Colts) 2001-14: From Batman to Marvin Harrison’s Superman, Wayne was part of one of the NFL’s most explosive offenses of the 2000s. Wayne – who spent his entire 15-year career with the Colts – got a key touchdown in the Colts’ victory over the Bears in Super Bowl XLI. He went on to be Manning’s No.1 option in the team’s 2009 Super Bowl run. Wayne retired with 1,070 receptions for 14,345 yards and 82 touchdowns.

WR Torry Holt (Rams, Jaguars) 1998-09: A valued member of the “Greatest Show on Turf,” Holt has led the NFL in hosting twice. He was pro Bowler seven times over an eight-year span. In 173 career games, he caught 920 passes for 13,382 yards and 74 touchdowns.

DE / DT Richard Seymour (Patriots, Raiders) 2001-12: Sixth overall pick in the 2001 Draft, Seymour helped the Patriots win their first of six Super Bowls in his rookie season. Seven years later, Seymour left New England as a three-time champion, five-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro. Seymour added two more Pro Bowl selections to his resume during his four years with the Raiders.

The 10 other finalists

BY Jared Allen (Chiefs, Vikings, Bears, Panthers): 2004-15

OT Willie Anderson (Bengals, Ravens): 1996-08

DB Ronde Barber (Foucaniers): 1997-12

OT Tony Boselli (Jaguars): 1995-01

S LeRoy Butler (Packers): 1990-01

WR / PR / KR Devin Hester (Bears, Falcons, Crows): 2006-16

LB Sam Mills (Saints, Panthers): 1986-97

LB Zach Thomas (Dolphins, Cowboys): 1996-08

LB Patrick Willis (49ers): 2007-14

DT Bryant Young (49ers): 1994-07

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.