Formula 1 calendar 2021: The overview


The provisional Formula 1 calendar for the 2021 season has been in place since the end of October 2020. According to this, 23 races will be held for the first time in the history of the championship in the premier class in the coming motorsport year, but none of them will be held in Germany.

The Formula 1 season opener 2021 was originally planned for March 21. Melbourne (Australia) was chosen as the venue for this. But the race was initially postponed to November and then finally canceled. The season started on March 28th in Sachir (Bahrain) and ends on December 12th in Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates).

Two new venues are to join the Formula 1 calendar in 2021: Zandvoort (Netherlands) should have been there as early as 2020, but that prevented the corona crisis. For the first time ever, Jeddah appears in Saudi Arabia on a Formula 1 racing calendar.

Hanoi is missing, Portimao steps in again

Zandvoort will be the 13th race to be headed on September 5th, between the Grands Prix in Spa-Francorchamps and Monza, which were previously driven one after the other. Jeddah will take the penultimate place in the largest Formula 1 calendar to date between Sao Paulo and Abu Dhabi on December 5th.

The original plans included another new race in Hanoi (Vietnam), which should also have made its Formula 1 debut in 2020. But now Hanoi has been removed from the provisional Grand Prix calendar for 2021. The date on May 2nd was vacant for a long time and was not filled until the beginning of March: Portugal is stepping in again.

Montreal and Singapore are canceled again

At the end of April, another change due to the corona pandemic became known: The Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal will not be driven in 2021 either. From June 11th to 13th, Turkey was to step in again with the slopes in Istanbul. But because it is not possible to drive there either, there are again two races in Austria this year.

At the beginning of June, the promoter of the Singapore Grand Prix of Formula 1 canceled this year’s city race. A race in Istanbul (Turkey) was chosen as a replacement.

The two races in Australia and Japan for which a replacement is still being sought were later canceled. On September 30th, Formula 1 announced: Instead of Australia, Qatar is moving into the calendar, with a night race on the Losail International Circuit near Doha.

In this overview we present an overview of all the venues in 2021 and also show how long the corresponding routes will still be on the Formula 1 calendar. Because while some contracts expire in 2021, other racetracks are still tied to Formula 1 in the long term.

The Formula 1 calendar 2021

  • 28.03.2021: Bahrain Grand Prix (Sachir)
  • 18.04.2021: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix (Imola)
  • 02.05.2021: Portuguese Grand Prix (Portimao)
  • 09.05.2021: Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona)
  • 23.05.2021: Monaco Grand Prix (Monte Carlo)
  • 06.06.2021: Azerbaijan Grand Prix (Baku)
  • 20.06.2021: French Grand Prix (Le Castellet)
  • 27.06.2021: Styrian Grand Prix (Spielberg)
  • 04.07.2021: Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg)
  • 18.07.2021: British Grand Prix (Silverstone)
  • 08/01/2021: Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest)
  • 29.08.2021: Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps)
  • 05.09.2021: Dutch Grand Prix (Zandvoort)
  • 12.09.2021: Italian Grand Prix (Monza)
  • 26.09.2021: Russian Grand Prix (Sochi)
  • 10.10.2021: Turkish Grand Prix (Istanbul)
  • 24.10.2021: United States Grand Prix (Austin)
  • 07.11.2021: Mexican Grand Prix (Mexico City)
  • 14.11.2021: Brazilian Grand Prix (Sao Paulo)
  • 21.11.2021: Qatar Grand Prix (Losail)
  • 05.12.2021: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix (Jeddah)
  • 12.12.2021: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Abu Dhabi)

So the Formula 1 calendar is adopted

The racing dates for the Formula 1 season in the following year will initially be negotiated with the racetracks by the rights holder Liberty Media. As a rule, the teams are also involved in these negotiations and are continuously informed of progress. However, the teams have no decision-making power.

As soon as a first draft is available, it is usually published by the rights holder. In 2020, for example, this was done on October 27 for the 2021 season. In this draft there is often one or the other “asterisk” – for example, if a contract with a race track has not yet been signed, but an agreement is foreseeable.

As soon as all contracts have been finalized and the last “asterisk” has been eliminated, the rights holder submits the calendar draft to the FIA’s World Motorsport Council. The Formula 1 calendar for the next season will only be officially published by the FIA ​​once its 26 members have given their consent (this is usually a purely formal act).

The World Council usually meets four times a year, including in October and December. Ratification as early as October is possible. In practice, however, the Formula 1 calendar was usually only officially announced and confirmed after the December meeting (shortly before the FIA ​​end-of-year gala with the Formula 1 World Championship award ceremony).

Only then are all Grand Prix dates really 100 percent binding.

Formula 1 venues 2021:

  • Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi: Yas Marina Circuit (contract until 2021)
  • Azerbaijan, Baku: Baku City Circuit (until 2023)
  • Bahrain, Sachir: Bahrain International Circuit (until 2021)
  • Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (until 2021)
  • Brazil, Sao Paulo: Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (until 2025)
  • France, Le Castellet: Circuit Paul Ricard (until 2022)
  • Great Britain, Silverstone: Silverstone Circuit (until 2024)
  • Italy, Monza: Autodromo Nazionale Monza (until 2024)
  • Italy, Imola: Imola Circuit (until 2021)
  • Qatar, Losail: Losail International Circuit (until 2021 / from 2023 to 2032)
  • Mexico, Mexico City: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez (until 2022)
  • Monaco, Monte Carlo: Circuit de Monaco (until 2021)
  • Netherlands, Zandvoort: Circuit Park Zandvoort (until 2022)
  • Austria, Spielberg: Red Bull Ring (until 2021)
  • Portugal, Portimao: Algarve International Circuit (until 2021)
  • Russia, Sochi: Sochi Autodrom (until 2025)
  • Saudi Arabia, Jeddah: Jeddah International Street Circuit (until 2022)
  • Spain, Barcelona: Circuit Barcelona-Catalunya (until 2021)
  • Hungary, Budapest: Hungaroring (until 2027)
  • USA, Austin: Circuit of The Americas (until 2021)
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.